Medical Imaging and Electronics

Workspace

© Olaf Malzahn | Uni Lübeck

Medical imaging and the electronics required for it are essential components in modern medicine. Procedures such as computer tomography (CT) and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) allow ever more precise insights into the human body and contribute a great deal to diagnostics and thus to the targeted therapy of a variety of diseases. The possibilities for automatic evaluation of the images generated are constantly growing. This results not only in more efficient patient care but also in economic advantages.

The Medical Imaging and Electronics department at Fraunhofer IMTE is involved in a wide range of innovative methods for recording and analysing signals from the living body. Our scientists work in interdisciplinary and motivated teams to meet the resulting technological and economic challenges in the long term and sustainably. The entirety of such systems is always considered, from hardware development to software implementation and image reconstruction to the translation of the systems into clinical application.

In addition to the established imaging methods, the core competence of the IMTE lies in the development and establishment of new imaging methods. In this context, Magnetic Particle Imaging (MPI) is a method that is currently being prepared by the preclinical research area for use in the clinic. Methods such as electromyography and bioimpedance analysis also benefit from the further advancing possibilities of electronics and expand the repertoire of medical diagnostics.

Fields of research

Preclinical MPI scanner Kolibri

At Fraunhofer IMTE, a preclinical MPI system was developed and set up, whose selection field corresponds to a field-free line. This makes it possible to obtain sensitive and high-resolution images of a distribution of magnetic nanoparticles. The system is characterised by mechanical rotation. This makes it predestined for a wide range of preclinical applications, which are being evaluated on this system in collaboration with various partners.

NeuroMap

MPI is so far a preclinical imaging modality. At Fraunhofer IMTE, an MPI device is to be developed on the basis of a prototype head scanner, which will be approved for human application and enable the first MPI images of a human being. The envisaged medical application is rapid stroke diagnosis, which can be performed directly at a patient's bedside, e.g. in an ambulance or in the emergency room. This is achieved by designing the system as a mobile unit.

TOMEDEX

Minimally invasive plate osteosynthesis (MIPO) is the method of choice for bone fracture treatment. By opening only small access points to the surrounding tissue, the osteosynthesis plate and the required screws are brought close to the fracture. MIPO has been shown to shorten recovery times, accelerate fracture healing and reduce the number of infections. The widespread use of MIPO is impeded by the need for radiation-based control for an accurate location, which increases the applied dose. In addition, the soft tissue enclosed in the fracture ends is not visible, which makes MIPO inapplicable and potentially damages nerves and vessels. When placing the screws, no information about the bone quality is available because the bone is not directly visible. In order to counteract the disadvantages, this project aims to build a X-Ray device that significantly increases soft-tissue contrast in 3D and at the same time reduces the patient's exposure to radiation. For these tasks, highly adapted software algorithms are developed to reconstruct the data in a reasonable amount of time. The measurement will allow a direct assessment of bone quality so that the placement of screws can be directed to areas with increased bone density. In order to increase the acceptance of the device, the procedure will be seamlessly integrated into existing treatment processes and workflows of hospitals and surgical centers.

MDLMA

Multi-task Deep Learning for Large-scale Multimodal Biomedical Image Analysis; BMBF-funded

Metal artefact reduction

One of the biggest challenges in the field of Computed Tomography is the presence of metal objects such as  hip implants, artificial joints, pacemaker, or orthopedic screws within a patient's body. Caused by the extremely high attenuation coefficients and the physical characteristics of x-ray photons one can obtain severe streaking artefacts in the reconstructed image. The obtained artefacts reduce the diagnostic value of the CT image up to a point where the acquisition is useless for diagnosis. The problem of metal artefact reduction (MAR) has been intensively studied for over 3 decades. A common approach for MAR is to discard the projection data influenced by metal. Therefore, an algorithm must be found that can cope with the gap within the acquired raw data (a sinogram). The majority of the high quantity of different approaches that have been published can be separated in two categories: sinogram completion-based methods and iterative methods.

Our research group is particularly working on algorithms that incorporate criteria for consistent sinograms. An inpainting method that fills the gap in the raw data in a consistent way, regarding these criteria, allows for a reconstruction  that uses all required projections without using the corrupted projections through metal. Another project is focused on the inclusion of prior knowledge in terms of shape and composition of implants into a reconstruction algorithm. The main idea is to use the known attenuation coefficients of the metal implant in order to reduce the streaking artefacts, which are initially caused by the projections that are influenced by metal.

Services

  • Design and construction of (sub-)systems for (medical) imaging
  • Measurement of biological and technical samples in our imaging systems
  • Application-specific development of algorithms for image reconstruction and analysis
  • Software development for system control and signal evaluation 
  • Development of systems for analysis and imaging of magnetic nanoparticles
  • Development and analysis of electronic circuits for analogue and digital processing of signals from the human body

Equipment

X-ray microscope -Xradia 510 Versa (Zeiss) Micro-CT -Skyscan (Bruker) Industrial CT -FF35 (Yxlon) 3D Scanner -COMET 5M (Zeiss)
  • Application: X-ray based radiography of biological samples of medium size and density.
  • Object size: 300 mm Ø, 300 mm length
  • Resolution: up to 70 nm
  • Tube voltage: 30 -160 kV
  • Application: Ex vivo micro-CT system for small samples with low density.
  • Object size: 50 mm Ø, 50 mm height
  • Resolution: 1 μm
  • Application: Non-destructive testing of objects with high density.
  • Object size: 510 mm Ø, 600 mm height
  • Resolution up to 150 nm
  • Tube voltage: up to 225 kV
  • Application: Fringe light projector for measuring the dimensional accuracy and the object surface.
  • Object size: 480 x 400 x 250 mm³
  • Resolution: up to 18 μm
       
MRT -M7™ Mx Compact MRI (Aspect Imaging) MRT -ICON (Bruker) MPI -Preclinical Magnetic Particle Imaging System (Bruker)  
  • Application: Small animal imaging with high soft tissue contrast.
  • Object size: 120 mm Ø, 90 mm length
  • Field strength: 1 T
  • Application: small animal imaging with high soft tissue contrast
  • Object size: 80 mm Ø, 500 g weight
  • Resolution: up to 100 μm in the plane and 1 mm slice thickness
  • Field strength: 1 T
  • Application: Fast imaging with magnetic nanoparticles
  • Selection field: 2.5 T/m
  • Object size: 119 mm Ø

Medizinische Bildgebung und Elektronik

Arbeitsbereich

© Olaf Malzahn | Uni Lübeck

Die Medizinische Bildgebung und die dafür benötigte Elektronik sind in der modernen Medizin essentielle Bestandteile. Verfahren wie die Computertomographie (CT) und die Magnetresonanztomographie (MRT) erlauben immer präzisere Einblicke in den menschlichen Körper und tragen einen großen Teil zur Diagnostik und damit zur gezielten Therapie einer Vielfalt von Erkrankungen bei. Die Möglichkeiten zur automatischen Auswertung der erzeugten Bilder wachsen stetig. Daraus ergeben sich neben einer effizienteren Patientenversorgung auch ökonomische Vorteile.

 

Der Bereich Medizinische Bildgebung und Elektronik am Fraunhofer IMTE beschäftigt sich mit einer großen Bandbreite an innovativen Methoden rund um die Aufnahme und Analyse von Signalen aus dem lebenden Körper. Unsere Wissenschaftler*innen arbeiten in interdisziplinären und motivierten Teams, um den daraus erwachsenden technologischen und ökonomischen Herausforderungen langfristig und nachhaltig gerecht zu werden. Dabei wird stets die Gesamtheit solcher Systeme von der Hardware-Entwicklung über die Software-Implementierung und Bildrekonstruktion bis hin zur Translation der Systeme in die klinische Anwendung betrachtet. 

 

Neben den etablierten bildgebenden Verfahren liegt die Kernkompetenz des IMTE in der Entwicklung und Etablierung neuer Bildgebungsmethoden. Dabei ist das Magnetic Particle Imaging (MPI) eine Methode, die derzeit vom präklinischen Forschungsbereich für den Einsatz in der Klinik vorbereit wird. Auch Methoden wie die Elektromyographie und die Bioimpedanzanalyse profitieren von den weiter voranschreitenden Möglichkeiten der Elektronik und erweitern das Repertoire der medizinischen Diagnostik.

Forschungsfelder

Präklinischer MPI-Scanner Kolibri

Am Fraunhofer IMTE wurde ein präklinisches MPI-System entwickelt und aufgebaut, dessen Selektionsfeld einer feldfreien Linie entspricht. Dadurch ist es möglich, sensitive und hochauflösende Bilder einer Verteilung magnetischer Nanopartikel zu erhalten. Das System zeichnet sich durch eine mechanische Rotation aus. Dadurch ist es prädestiniert für eine breite Palette an präklinischen Anwendungen, welche in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Partnern an diesem System evaluiert werden.

NeuroMap

Das MPI ist bislang eine präklinische Bildgebungsmodalität. Am Fraunhofer IMTE soll auf Basis eines prototypischen Kopf-Scanners ein MPI-Gerät entwickelt werden, welches für die Humananwendung zugelassen wird und erste MPI-Bilder eines Menschen ermöglicht. Die anvisierte medizinische Anwendung ist die schnelle Schlaganfall-Diagnose, die direkt an einem Patientenbett, z.B. im Krankenwagen oder in der Notaufnahme, vorgenommen werden kann. Dies wird erreicht, indem das System als mobile Einheit konzipiert wird.

TOMEDEX

Die minimalinvasive Plattenosteosynthese (MIPO) ist die Methode der Wahl für die Behandlung von Knochenbrüchen. Indem nur kleine Zugänge zum umliegenden Gewebe geöffnet werden, werden die Osteosyntheseplatte und die erforderlichen Schrauben nahe an die Fraktur herangeführt. Die MIPO verkürzt nachweislich die Genesungszeit, beschleunigt die Frakturheilung und verringert die Zahl der Infektionen. Die weit verbreitete Anwendung der MIPO wird dadurch erschwert, dass für eine genaue Positionierung eine Strahlenkontrolle erforderlich ist, was die applizierte Dosis erhöht. Außerdem ist das von den Frakturenden umschlossene Weichteilgewebe nicht sichtbar, so dass die MIPO nicht anwendbar ist und möglicherweise Nerven und Gefäße schädigt. Beim Einbringen der Schrauben ist keine Information über die Knochenqualität verfügbar, da der Knochen nicht direkt sichtbar ist. Um den Nachteilen entgegenzuwirken, soll in diesem Projekt ein Röntgengerät gebaut werden, das den Weichteilkontrast in 3D deutlich erhöht und gleichzeitig die Strahlenbelastung für den Patienten reduziert. Für diese Aufgaben werden hoch angepasste Software-Algorithmen entwickelt, die die Daten in angemessener Zeit rekonstruieren. Die Messung wird eine direkte Beurteilung der Knochenqualität ermöglichen, so dass die Platzierung von Schrauben auf Bereiche mit erhöhter Knochendichte gelenkt werden kann. Um die Akzeptanz des Gerätes zu erhöhen, wird das Verfahren nahtlos in bestehende Behandlungsprozesse und Arbeitsabläufe von Krankenhäusern und chirurgischen Zentren integriert.

MDLMA

Multi-task Deep Learning for Large-scale Multimodal Biomedical Image Analysis; BMBF-gefördert

Metallartefaktreduzierung

Eine der größten Herausforderungen auf dem Gebiet der Computertomografie ist das Vorhandensein von Metallobjekten wie Hüftimplantaten, künstlichen Gelenken, Herzschrittmachern oder orthopädischen Schrauben im Körper eines Patienten. Aufgrund der extrem hohen Dämpfungskoeffizienten und der physikalischen Eigenschaften von Röntgenphotonen kann es zu starken Streifenartefakten im rekonstruierten Bild kommen. Diese Artefakte mindern den diagnostischen Wert des CT-Bildes bis zu einem Punkt, an dem die Aufnahme für die Diagnose unbrauchbar ist. Das Problem der Reduzierung von Metallartefakten (MAR) wird seit über drei Jahrzehnten intensiv untersucht. Ein gängiger Ansatz für MAR besteht darin, die durch Metall beeinflussten Projektionsdaten zu verwerfen. Daher muss ein Algorithmus gefunden werden, der mit den Lücken in den erfassten Rohdaten (einem Sinogramm) umgehen kann. Die meisten der zahlreichen veröffentlichten Ansätze lassen sich in zwei Kategorien einteilen: auf Sinogrammvervollständigung basierende Methoden und iterative Methoden.

Unsere Forschungsgruppe arbeitet insbesondere an Algorithmen, die Kriterien für konsistente Sinogramme beinhalten. Eine Inpainting-Methode, die die Lücke in den Rohdaten auf konsistente Weise unter Berücksichtigung dieser Kriterien füllt, ermöglicht eine Rekonstruktion, die alle erforderlichen Projektionen nutzt, ohne die durch Metall verfälschten Projektionen zu verwenden. Ein weiteres Projekt befasst sich mit der Einbeziehung von Vorwissen über Form und Zusammensetzung von Implantaten in einen Rekonstruktionsalgorithmus. Die Hauptidee besteht darin, die bekannten Dämpfungskoeffizienten des Metallimplantats zu nutzen, um die Streifenartefakte zu reduzieren, die zunächst durch die vom Metall beeinflussten Projektionen verursacht werden.

Leistungen

  • Konzeption und Aufbau von (Teil-)Systemen zur (medizinischen) Bildgebung
  • Messung von biologischen und technischen Proben in unseren Bildgebungssystemen
  • Anwendungsspezifische Entwicklung von Algorithmen für die Bildrekonstruktion und –analyse
  • Software-Entwicklung für die Steuerung von Systemen und die Signalauswertung 
  • Entwicklung von Systemen zur Analyse und Bildgebung magnetischer Nanopartikel
  • Entwicklung und Analyse elektronischer Schaltungen zur analogen und digitalen Verarbeitung von Signalen aus dem menschlichen Körper

 

 

 

Ausstattung

Röntgenmikroskop -Xradia 510 Versa (Zeiss) Micro-CT -Skyscan (Bruker) Industrie-CT -FF35 (Yxlon)
  • Anwendung: Röntgenbasierte Durchstrahlung von biologischen Proben mittlerer Größe und Dichte
  • Objektgröße: 300 mm Ø, 300 mm Länge
  • Auflösung: bis zu 70 nm
  • Röhrenspannung: 30 -160 kV
  • Anwendung: Ex vivo micro-CT System für kleine Proben mit geringer Dichte
  • Objektgröße: 50 mm Ø, 50 mm Höhe
  • Auflösung: 1 μm
  • Anwendung: Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung von Objekten mit hoher Dichte
  • Objektgröße: 510 mm Ø, 600 mm Höhe
  • Auflösung bis zu 150 nm
  • Röhrenspannung: bis 225 kV

MRT -M7™ Mx Compact MRI (Aspect Imaging) MRT -ICON (Bruker) MPI -Preclinical Magnetic Particle Imaging System (Bruker) 3D Scanner -COMET 5M (Zeiss)
  • Anwendung: Kleintierbildgebung mithohem Weichteilkontrast
  • Objektgröße: 120 mm Ø, 90 mm Länge
  • Feldstärke: 1 T
  • Anwendung: Kleintierbildgebung mit hohem Weichteilkontrast
  • Objektgröße: 80 mm Ø, 500 g Gewicht
  • Auflösung: bis zu 100 μm in der Ebene und 1 mm Schichtdicke
  • Feldstärke: 1 T
  • Anwendung: Schnelle Bildgebung mit magnetischen Nanopartikeln
  • Selektionsfeld: 2,5 T/m
  • Objektgröße: 119 mm Ø
  • Anwendung: Streifenlichtprojektor zur Vermessung der Maßhaltigkeit und der Objektoberfläche
  • Objektgröße: 480 x 400 x 250 mm³
  • Auflösung: bis zu 18 μm